Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Front Shifter/Derailleur issue
Hello,

I have recently begun attempting to fix up my bike for summer/commuting to work now that I've moved. While checking through things, I realized that over the "sitting in the shed" time over winter, my front gears now won't shift. The shifter on the handlebar moves easily still, but the chain won't move to the other gears (it's currently in the middle of 3 front gears) and there seems to be no indication of anything happening when I try to shift. The rear will move perfectly through all the gears easily, the chain isn't worn, and I had a complete overhaul/tune-up on the bike (from a friend at college whom I no longer have easy access to for help on this) 3 years ago, with only minor riding time put in since then. I have little experience with fixing my bike myself (but I'm interested in learning), and was hoping to get some advice as to where to start looking for the issue. Should I be looking at the cable (it LOOKS like it's in place), the derailleur (again, it APPEARS to be in good condition, but I'm not entirely sure what part to be looking at for issues), the chain (I cleaned it and made sure it looked like it was in good shape), or somewhere else entirely? Or is this something that I need to take to a bike shop to look at? Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.
After it has been sitting in the shed, everything needs lube against corrosion and rust. Replace all housing and cable. I'd do both front and rear derailleurs. Lube all the pivot points on both derailleurs, including pinch bolts. Degrease and lube chain. Limit screws should be ok so just fine tune with barrel adjusters. If this is sounding foreign, take it to the shop, it will be worth it.
GO RIDE...