Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Can you get sprocket spacers?
I don't know how, but my son borrowed my cheepo mountain bike (Tribal Bike Company), and after a few months has brought it to me with the sprockets of the freewheel all loose. I pulled the wheel off and it seems that a few of the spacers between the various sized sprockets are missing which then made the whole assembly of sprockets loose and unusable

I have never worked on the rear sprockets before, so didn't even know how they went together... I do now... lol. Just wondering if you can get these spacer rings at a LBS or not, or would you have to get a whole new freewheel assembly?
Spacers are certainly available in the UK.
You will need the size suitable for your cassette (ie 7/8/9 speed) as the widths are different.
Try Googling or Ebay or ask your LBS if they have an old cassette that you can dismantle.
Ride hard or ride home alone!
Will go to a few local shops and see...the sprockets basically fell off once I removed the wheel, I guess since it was loosened by the spacers breaking (still don't know how you would do that... lol) the smallest sprocket unscrewed. I have another old bike but its got a one piece type of cassette tho Sad

ahh, just noticed, the second smallest sprocket is broken...that must have happened when he tried to ride it when all the sprockets were getting loose and maybe wrenched the sprocket. Sheesh...amazing the damage a 17 y.o. can do to a borrowed bike!
You first need to be sure what you have a cassette or a free wheel. If its a free wheel you will have to buy a new one. But if its a cassette you may be able to get just the parts you need but if I was you and it is a cassette I would just get a new cassette and a new chain as well.
My dad always told me a Sledge a matic can fix any thing.