Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Flux Core Welder question?
I was looking at a flux core welder at my local Canadian Tire store and it says its good for up to 3mm (1/8") thick metal. Would this be good enough for welding up your ordinary bike frames?

Been researching the build your own recumbent info...out of castaway bikes. One person has used the braising method of welding his frames together, not really sure how much easier or better this method would be.

Currently, I know nothing of welding, but have always wanted to jump in and learn some of it, for it would be quite handy to know. So will either be starting with the flux core welder or oxy/acetylene method.
I'm no expert on welding and I don't know anything about "flux core welders".
I do know though that if you don't weld/braze/solder a frame properly then you are likely to end up with very weak joints/tubes.
Brazing is a lower temperature operation than welding.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brazing
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welding
Besides the "normal" welding we now have MIG & TIG welding which has allowed all sorts of metals to be fashioned into good frames.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gas_tungsten_arc_welding
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gas_metal_arc_welding

These have allowed a much better localised heated joint and therefore have less effect on the tubing.
There has also been steels developed specifically for welding processes which have better heat properties.

With some training and research, I don't see why you couldn't build your own frame.
There are hundreds of people building frames by hand and they had to start somewhere.

I found this site very interesting although, perhaps, not relevant to a recumbent?
http://www.littlefishbicycles.com/frame/
Ride hard or ride home alone!