Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Local bike shops, lbs
use them or lose them.
As a newbie, I am surprised at the simple questions being asked on these pages that can be solved by a quick visit to your lbs, and the seeming desire on the part of many to buy parts on-line without knowing what you need or the tools to carry out the replacement, and without having to resort to the "trade" as though you are expecting to be ripped off.
I am all in favour of learning about your bike and it's basic maintenance, I have almost always done my own, but then I have years of experience and lots of tools, but even I need to resort to the lbs occasionally, so I make a point of buying my bits and pieces there, and not on-line, and surprisingly, it doesn't usually cost much if anymore, and I get them right away, no need to wait in for delivery.
Although the shop is there to make money, they can't do it without satisfied customers, so getting a rep as being helpful and cost effective is one of their aims, so give them a chance, or when you really need them they won't be there.
A few sample prices from my lbs:
brake blocks, mtb peg type from £3/pair.
basic bb cup set inc. bearings, £6 mtb £8 bmx. sealed unit from £15,
they also stock threadless units.
brake levers from £10/pair.
tubes £4 or £6 self seal, mtb tyres from £8 ea.
true wheel ( you can't do this on line) £10 to £15
bb strip and replace all parts from £30 basic, £40 sealed unit.
So, once again, use them or lose them!!