Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Lateral adjustments
hello. i am a complete newbie. i haven't trued a wheel by myself yet . i plan to true wheels my self when i have necessary tools. (like a truing stand and a spoke tension meter etc..) especially i learned a lot from this site. (thanks alex and others)

i read something about wheel truing but i am not sure whether i understood the issue correctly. so i decided to ask you.

let's assume that this is our rim. on the left side there are A, C, E and on the right side there are B,D and F nipples.

[Image: true2.jpg]

if caliper is rubbing left between the dotted area (which is opposite of a right-side spoke) than what we need to do is tightening the D nipple 1/2 turn clockwise.

[Image: true1.jpg]

and if there is a rub (again left side) between two right side spokes (dotted area) first we check the right side spokes tightness. if one of them is looser we tighten it 1/2 turn else if they seem equally tight then we tighten them both 1/4 turn.

for lateral adjustments all we need to do is this? else are there any other situations (i don't mean when caliper arms is rubbing right side. because they are similar) that we may come across? and also are the nipple's direction of rotation correct? thanks..
Unless you're going to be building or truing a lot of wheels, I wouldn't worry about a truing stand, unless of course money is no object. You can true the wheel on the upturned bicycle, using the brake blocks as a guide and it's easier if you remove the tyre. I sit on a chair, with the wheel I'm working on, sort of between my knees. Then push the caliper over so that it brushes the rim on the side with "bulge" as it were. Working like this, your looking down on the rim from the inside of the wheel, so remember that turning the nipple anti-clockwise tightens and vice versa.