Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Stem Replacement
Hi everyone, i am starting a project within the next few weeks to convert an old mountain bike into a road bike. Unfortunately at the minute the bike is at my dads and i have no way of getting there to take measurements so i can buy new parts. Its a DiamondBack Topanga (approximately 1992/93 model). I want to purchase a new stem but cant get to it, to see whether it takes a 1 inch or a 1 1/8 inch stem. As you can probably tell, i'm a novice, so any help would be much appreciated! Cheers guys. Davepen
A road bike has a quite different geometry than a MTB.... just keep that in mind. The weight distribution on the wheels will be quite different than the framebuilder intended and the result might very well be unrideable.
Cannot help you with the original question, except that 1" used to be standard for the steerer outer diameter and the stem would be 7/8 then.
ok thanks. so you would suggest not bothering to convert and maybe just upgrade some of the components?
Well, you could give it a try, but I think that the end result might be... well... not quite good. You could try to get e.g. Paterek's framebuilding book or other literature and try to figure out how the handling might change and how to correct that (other fork?).

I would try to find what needs to be replaced and then probably get some last year mid range MTB components. While you can score a bargain that way, be aware that it is easy to spend some serious money... shifters, dérailleurs, hubs (or even wheelset, depending on the state of the wheels), crank set, brakes (plus chain, sprockets, and some small stuff that you'd need to replace anyway). Could be a nice project, though, and you'll learn a lot!

Oh, and concerning the original question: why do you want to replace the stem? Is it broken or too long / too short?