Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

GT Arette with Altus Cranks (Tool?)
Hello , Can someone pleas clue me in on what puller I need for the Schimano Altus Crank removal? Is it the FC10 I see mentioned some here? I used a micrometer across the inside of the threaded puller insert area and it seems to measure 20.5 mm across..

I would like to pull this bottom bracket apart and rebuild it or maintain it... It is a little loose which is to be expected on a 15 year old bike?

Short story... this was a first "adult" bike for me then I bought a Trek 7500 which is a good bike I guess but the frame geometry? is just not as comfortable to me... My knees seem to be up against the handlebars when pedaling... Maybe I just bought the wrong size.

Anyhow I am now rebuilding this bike. First time for this job but I was an auto mechanic for 18 years in my earlier days and like tinkering with things. So that's my story and I'm sticking to it .. Please .. Please .. Tell me which Puller I need for the Altus Arms ... Thank You Very Much .. Don J.
(06-06-2010, 11:13 PM)diverdon Wrote:  Hello , Can someone pleas clue me in on what puller I need for the Schimano Altus Crank removal? Is it the FC10 I see mentioned some here? I used a micrometer across the inside of the threaded puller insert area and it seems to measure 20.5 mm across..

I would like to pull this bottom bracket apart and rebuild it or maintain it... It is a little loose which is to be expected on a 15 year old bike?

Short story... this was a first "adult" bike for me then I bought a Trek 7500 which is a good bike I guess but the frame geometry? is just not as comfortable to me... My knees seem to be up against the handlebars when pedaling... Maybe I just bought the wrong size.