Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

New to biking... a few questions
Hi, I am new to biking and wish to bike on trails to help lose weight and get in shape. I have not ridden a bike since 1987, when I had a Schwinn 10-speed road bike with two sets of handle bars and no one wore helmets. Money is a concern, so I have been shopping on craig's list and at walmart.com for ideas. I have some questions.

1. how important is getting a bike with a quick-release rear wheel? does it take that much longer to change a non-quick release rear tire on the road?

2. where is the most inexpensive place to buy items for my repair kit (tube, spare tire, tire levers, patch kit, chain wrench, allen wrenches, pump, etc.)? do brick and mortar retail stores sell these, or do i have to go online?

3. where is the cheapest place to find a bike with a quick-release rear wheel, either new or used? my budget is $200 and under.

4. is having a quick-release seat important?

5. are the best locks to use still those "U-locks"?

6. is it preferable to buy a mountain, road, hybrid, bmx, or racing bike?

7. is there a maximum weight limit for bike tires and rims? how fat is too fat to ride or you will break the rim? 350 lbs? 400 lbs?

8. how many speeds do i need? 5, 10, 18, 21??

Thanks so much!
(06-11-2010, 05:20 AM)mileena Wrote:  Hi, I am new to biking and wish to bike on trails to help lose weight and get in shape. I have not ridden a bike since 1987, when I had a Schwinn 10-speed road bike with two sets of handle bars and no one wore helmets. Money is a concern, so I have been shopping on craig's list and at walmart.com for ideas. I have some questions.