Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

V Brake help - Rear brake not working correctly.
I just ordered a bike online cause I'm poor and just wanted something. Finally got it all together, but the rear brakes aren't working correct. My dad was trying to make both work and he managed to get the front brakes working fine.

I am no mechanic, but I thought, what the hell. I'll search online to see what I can do maybe. We've taken the break apart multiple times and have tried numerous adjustments. I can't see any of the videos yet because for some reason adobe is not updating for me (hopefully will be able to soon).

This bike is Schwinn Lakeshore Cruiser Bike Pacific Women's 26-Inch. The thing that *seems* to be the problem with the rear brake is that the cable wire is too loose. This appears to happen up at the top near the lever. You can see by looking in through that there is space with the cable, and def more space than the front tire has with it's lever. It even makes a sound because of the space/loose ness.

If someone is awesome and knows what the solution is I'd very much appreciate it.

I will never again order a bike online. As it is, the front fender was dented in immensely coming out of the box, and the handlebars have scratches all over the black part. I understand that shipping can cause these things, but I still paid a decent price for this bike even if it is just a lower model.

It makes you wish someone out there would start a bike company that decent, simple, quality bikes for a reasonable price. I paid $170, and yes, many are much more. But for that much money I think the quality isn't worth it. It's also possible the gears don't shift, but I haven't checked them yet. My dad just said he didn't think they were working. But that's a whole other issue. Anyway, such a shame I couldn't have shopped smarter. :-(