Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Welding
(10-25-2010, 10:10 PM)KC-Steve Wrote:  I would tend to disagree with welding being cheaper unless you are referring to materials ONLY. We have gone full circle now, back to my post#4. Smile

I was actually referring to the initial manufacture. I imagine a brazed steel frame is easier to repair than a welded one as you could de-braze/solder a tube, clean it up and braze in a new one. Whereas I'm guessing that with a welded steel frame you'd have to cut out a tube, then grind off remnants of the tube and the original weld before welding in a new one.

With regard to repair, I agree, unless the frame was something pretty expensive to start with or perhaps had a special sentimental value, repair probably isn't going to be economical, regardless of what it's made of or how it's constructed.
Noob here, and sorry if it's poor etiquette to revive/threadjack an old thread. Be gentle if I've crossed the line....

I just discovered a crack in the aluminum mounting bracket for my front derailleur. It has probably been there for a while, because I've been having intermittent problems with shifting, but had never inspected the mounting - I just made other adjustments to the derailleur.

Here's what the crack looks like. As you can see, it's a through-and-through crack of the upper part of the bracket.

[Image: 2011-04-25046.jpg]

If possible, I'd like to salvage this frame. I don't have a lot of money for a new frame, and would have to pay more money to have someone take the components off my current frame and rebuild it, since I'm physically incapable of doing it by myself.

Is this something that can be safely welded, or am I just asking for trouble down the line? The frame is otherwise intact.

If this is feasible, then if anyone has welder recommendations in the San Jose, CA area, I would appreciate it.