Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Newbie Buying a MTB
I've been cycling on the road for a few years now but I'm just beginning to get my feet wet on the trails. As the summer winds down I'll be looking to save some dough through the winter and hopefully invest in a Mountain bike for next season.

I know how to handle myself on a bike but obviously road cycling and MTBing are very different.
Unfortunately I have little to no experience when it comes to buying a MTB. What are some of the things to look for in a good MTB? Any advice on this topic is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
First you need to think about where and what sort of riding you want to do, there are several different types of MTB to suit different riding styles and terrains.

These might help you decide:
http://mountain-biking.suite101.com/article.cfm/types_of_mountain_bikes
http://bicycle-types.suite101.com/article.cfm/types_of_mountain_bike

I also started on road bikes and I ride anything up to 50 or 60 miles on a mixture of on road, cinder paths and the odd jaunt across a field or through woodland tracks, I'm not particularly good at the more technical stuff, so I chose a Hard Tail XC (cross country) bike. An XC bike has a more road bike like riding position than other MTB types and is better suited to longer rides. You can get reasonably light full suspension XC bikes as well, but they will be heavier and significantly more expensive than a similar quality hard tail due to the added suspension components and complexity.

The sturdier, heavier and more upright Downhill/Freeride, and Dirt Jump bikes are designed for shorter more technical rides and All Mountain is designed to be something of an all rounder.