Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Why no Custom Wheels for Bicycles?
Why no Custom Wheels for Bicycles?
Excuse the nube, non-engineer question,, I’ve been riding to work for a couple of years now, and I’ve been wondering why there are no “Custom Rims or Wheels” for Bicycles. like there are for cars, trucks and custom motorcycles... Spokes and Carbon Is all I see. Cars, trucks & motorcycles have hundreds of choices. Is it a weight issue, a strength issue? Steel I know is heavy and does not stop well when wet, but what about aluminum or plastics? Is it the culture of aerodynamics and speed that continues to drive the industry?
Throwing this on a couple of different forums tonight.
Thanks for feedback.
i would say its a cost issue.
Get on your bad pedalscooter and ride!
There are dozens of different wheel designs, 3, 4 and 5 spoked carbon fiber wheels, disc wheels, flat spokes, different spoke lacing patterns, different coloured hubs etc. The thing is, most of the fancy stuff is very expensive, so for everyday bicycles the classic 3 cross spoked wheel is probably the most durable and cost effective.

How about these:
[Image: 26_gold_wheels.jpg]

Personally, I think they look totally naff, and say "look at me I'm a chav", just like custom wheels on cars.

For you guys across the pond, some info on chavs: http://www.google.co.uk/webhp?hl=en#hl=en&source=hp&q=Chav&aq=f&aqi=g10&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=&fp=37b285fba9fed13b
There are, like xerxes said, many different custom type bike wheels out there here is an example of plastic bicycles and wheels history... http://www.firstflightbikes.com/ShopNew/Bike_Histories/Plastic_Bike.htm
Good maintenance to your Bike, can make it like the wheels are, true and smooth!