Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

New rims for an old bike
I found what appears to be a 1981 Schwinn Varsity in the garbage a few years back. It's getting to the point where I'll need new tires before spring, but I would rather just go ahead and upgrade to lighter rims. The trouble is that I don't believe the rims that are on it now are original (seeing as how the two tires don't match) so I don't have much to go off of. I'm new to bike overhauling, so where do I start?

Any help as to appropriate sizes, where to look, brands, or materials would be much appreciated.

Thank you!
try contacting Schwinn customer services for info.
http://www.schwinnbikes.com/bikes
Well, if you need new tires, you need new tires. Whether you change the rims doesn't affect that. So first question is why you want to change the rims/wheels. (Note that the "rim" is the outer metal hoop only, the "wheel" is the rim, hub, and spokes. You probably would change the whole wheel rather than just a rim because swapping just rims is more expensive due to labor costs.)

If your bike has steel rims now (test with a magnet or look for rust) then switching to aluminum rims will make it a bit lighter and give you better braking. But you have to question if it's worth spending the money on it on this bike. It may be, but it's not a given.

Size wise, I would guess that your bike needs wheels with 27" rims and the rear wheel needs to accept a threaded "freewheel" rather than a "cassette". But you should confirm this before purchase. You also need to decide between quick release or bolt-on wheels with axle nuts. Wheels like this are readily available at most larger bike shops and online.