Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Rear wheel will not roll backwards - at all! (brand new bike)
I have a brand-new mountain bike I received for Christmas. I have been riding nearly my whole life, but I am far from an expert, and only understand the basic functions. The bicycle was shipped unassembled. I really wanted to put it together myself (or at least try) to both make sure it was done according to the instructions, and hopefully learn something in the process and get a feel for my own bike. At least if I had put it together myself, I would probably know what was wrong with it.