Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

When is the right age?
Hello everyone,
I have been asked time after time and not been able to give a proper answer! When is the right age to start use a baby carrier attached to a bicycle? This question I asked like at what age can an infant be safe to ride in one? Hopefully I can get a few professional points of view as well?
Good maintenance to your Bike, can make it like the wheels are, true and smooth!
(02-24-2011, 02:01 PM)Bill Wrote:  . . . Hopefully I can get a few professional points of view as well?

I'm no pro. And now that I'm thinking about it, is there such a thing as an infant bicycle carriage professional? Smile

Either way, from my own experience many years ago when helmets and seat belts were unheard of, my wife and I hauled around my son at around 2 to 2 and a half y/o without a problem. It was one of those seats that was over the back tire of my wife's bike. I followed to watch for falling babies. Smile

Steve
Junkyard Tools rescued from the junkyard!
My daughter started putting my grandson into a child carrier right around the age of 2. Before that, he was in a child trailer hooked to the bike's seat post and rear dropouts.
HCFR Cycling Team
Ride Safe...Ride Hard...Ride Daily
Guess my wording wasnt very good. I meant for one of these http://www.instep.net/Product/Bicycle_Trailers/
Good maintenance to your Bike, can make it like the wheels are, true and smooth!
Ye tis as I understood a carrier not a seat.

I see a lot of them on the beach bike path. Seems everyone so far said 2-3 is a good time.

As per seats I have seen some new ones with the seat on the handlebars. You can see the baby but is it safe? I think the carriers are a lot safer if they have strap in arrangements.
Never Give Up!!!