Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Schwinn Jaguar Rear Derailleur
Hello All,

I am a biking noob so forgive the ignorance here. I got a Schwinn Jaguar from Target a few years ago. It's just a beach cruiser, but has a 7 speed twist shifter.

A while back I had it parked out in front of my apartment as I ran into the house for something for a few minutes. Well long story short the neighbor kids were running around and "accidentally" knocked it over, which ended up breaking the rear derailleur.

It was all bent up and the little plastic gear wheel broke. I talked to the guy at my local bike shop and it sounded like it would cost an arm and a leg to get them to fix it. This bike is a cheapy to begin with so if it's going to be alot to fix I will probably just invest in a better bike. I don't ride much except to run errands around town so it was perfect for me.

Anyways, I'm pretty handy and from looking on this site it doesn't look too hard to replace the derailleur. I just have no idea which type I would need for this bike. The one on there now is a Shimano, but couldn't find a model number on the thing.

I've searched this site and pretty much everywhere on the web I could think of but so far no dice. If I can get a replacement derailleur for say under 30 to 40 bux and replace it myself I'd like to keep the bike.

Sorry for the long winded post. Hopefully you bike gurus can point me in the right direction.

I attached a jpg I found of this bike I found on the web (not my exact bike) so you can see the type I have if that helps.
most any will 7 speed will do
walmart if you have one, sells parts and tools online they do not offer in stores
get on walmart.com and look around they will have one for your price range and the tool to remove it also. free shipping from site to the store of your choice