Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Not sure if my bottom bracket needs work or not
Hi Guys,

Im relatively new to biking, havent really biked much since I was a kid but it is something Ive bee wanting to et into so I finally bought a half decent bike (Norco Mountaineer), bought it used as my budget is pretty tight and it needs a little work and as I cant really afford to take it to a bike shop I need to learn to do this all myself.

The crank/axle assembly seems a little loose, Ive tried tightening the crank bolts but it still seems to wiggle a little bit, here is a video I took, if the video doesnt help I can try taking another one.

http://videobam.com/bqfMP

If this isnt right and I need to do some work on it then please let me know what I need to do/buy to make it right.

Thanks guys!
Hi Dave;

If your BB has loose ball bearings, just take it apart, clean in up, inspect for wear, and put it back together.

You should replace the balls for sure, possibly the axle and cups.

From your video, I can not tell which kind of tool you'll need to remove the bottom bracket. We need an end on view from the left side (non-chain) to be able to tell. My three bikes all require different tools.

First you need a crank puller. Something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Park-Tool-Compact-Crank-Puller/dp/B0028YUZSS/ref=sr_1_2?s=sporting-goods&ie=UTF8&qid=1303226984&sr=1-2