Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

72 Schwinn Varsity axle nut?
I'm pretty new to refurbishing bikes, and I just purchased a 72 Schwinn Varsity from a yard sale. It was not in very good condition, so I'm trying to fix it up. I noticed that a nut from the front wheel axle is missing. I've taken the bike to a local bike repair shop that had been suggested to me, and I've visited the local Ace Hardware. Neither had a fitting nut, as the (apparently) 5/16" axle's threading isn't standard. (Note: the wheel is a Schwinn Tubular S-6 for a 27X1 1/4 tire, and mounted on the front if that matters.)

I've read that there's a lot that isn't standard about the older Schwinns and I've hunted around the internet for a place that sells a nut that'll fit the threading, but I haven't really found anything. I can't find the specifications of the nut, and no sellers have enough information for me to assume any given nut is right.

So I was wondering, does anyone know what I need and/or where to purchase it? I'm hoping it's a nut that I could find in a hardware store, but that seems a bit unlikely.
I am pretty sure this would be a 5/16" British Standard Cycle Thread, fairly easy to obtain here in the UK.
You could replace the complete axle assembly, just make sure it is for the same bearing dia. probably 3/16", and get new bearings at the same time.
Yep, I contemplated replacing the axles on my '74 when I was redoing it. My local bike shop mechanic told me he could replace the axles easily enough, I think he even mentioned being able to put in a quick release on the rear but he said the front was too narrow? Doesn't seem to be to me but oh well. The front and rear axle on my '74 Varsity take different size nuts, the front is 9/16" and the rear is 5/8".
Quote:I am pretty sure this would be a 5/16" British Standard Cycle Thread