Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Single Speed Commuter
I'm a college student looking into buying a single speed bike that will be a good value for under $400 (preferably around $200). I'm going to school in New York, Ithaca to be exact, and I need something that will hold up to the crazy weather and lots and lots of use. Please respond with any suggestions or tips.

p.s. I'm not some hipster who's just jumping on the bandwagon, I just really need a simple, fun, and durable bike.
http://www.amazon.com/Takara-Kabuto-Single-Speed-Frame/dp/B0041QF9EQ/

the above one would be fine, if it fits you. Read the comments - except the 1 star guy who installed the forks backwards.......but do read the follow up comments, they are quite good.

I like steel, some like aluminum.

You should plan on greasing the wheel bearings, headset and bottom bracket. Get some Koolstop Salmon brake pads, lights, lock and your set.
Nigel
the bike looks good, but I'm 6'1" and a 54 is probably too small
(07-05-2011, 07:45 PM)Brian98 Wrote:  the bike looks good, but I'm 6'1" and a 54 is probably too small

what is your trouser inseam? Between your height and trouser inseam, we can come up with a pretty good recommendation for frame size.
Nigel
a 6'1" person likes this one - but it is aluminum (:
http://www.amazon.com/Schwinn-Mens-Courier-Bicycle-Green/dp/B002TQYXR4/

this one is available in 58cm
http://www.amazon.com/Vilano-Drift-Single-Speed-Road/dp/B0054R6WFG/ and is steel Smile

these two are Cro-Mo (high grade steel):
http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/windsor/clockwork.htm
http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/track.htm
and BD has a good reputation.

you probably want a 58cm or maybe a 61cm if you have really long legs.
Nigel
I like the windsor and the vilano, but what is so special about steel?