Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

V brakes won't center
I replaced my rear v brake. Whenever i put them on I read the directions and it instructed me to put the spring in the middle hole but it will only work in the top holes and seems to be tighter than its supposed to. Also when I view them from the rear the left side is cocked to left while the right is straight up. These are supposed to be parallel with each other right. And why do they not work in the middle hole? Please excuse me for any confusion you may have while reading this as I am a rookie when it comes to bike repair. Thanks

Have you checked out the "tutor" :-
http://bikeride.com/adjust-v-brakes/
You only need to to use the "holes" that give enough spring tension to release the brakes.<br />
The one thing that may throw them of centre is the route of the cable from the rear fixing.<br />
Have a look at this to see if it's pulling or pushing the arms over.<br />
Without the cable attached then there should be fairly equal pressure on each arm.<br />
There are little screws on the side of each arm that can be adjusted to help centre the arms.

Ride hard or ride home alone!
Also it came with a noodle which I didn't use because the top would not fit over the cable ferrule. So I used the old noodle. Could this contribute to my problems?

The noodle did cross my mind. ??<br />
If the the 2 are shaped the same then I can't see it making any difference.<br />
There are 2 shapes, one with just a 90 deg' bend and the other has more curve to it.<br />
My bike has the 90 deg' on the back but could do really with more of a curve to give a better line, but it does work fine.<br />
If you remove the cable ferrule then will the cable go into the noodel?
The other possibility is cable length?<br />
It could be to short and pulling or to long and pushing the arms.<br />