Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Reversing a seat post. Anyone done it?
When I had my Retul fitting done on my road bike, I was riding the bars with my hands at the bend. The bike was adjusted for that position and worked great until I started riding the hoods. The new position now puts me at a lower profile but also puts me a bit more forward on my saddle and I keep sliding forward which is causing me to not sit on my sit bones as I should be and is causing numbing issues. My saddle is as forward as it can go on the seat post, and I need to move it forward some to solve this problem or start riding stiff armed and have pain in the hands and elbows.

I have been to bike shops looking for a new saddle that may have slightly longer rails that would solve the issue, but have come up empty handed. One LSB suggested to reverse the seat tube, which would give me more room on the rails to move the saddle forward. I have been hesitant to do this because I am not sure if the weight bearing on the saddle mount in the opposite direction will cause the carbon fiber seat post undue stress, since it was not designed that way. My question, "Has anyone reversed their carbon seat post to get a more forward position out of their saddle and if so, has it stressed the seat post any?"

My other option is to get a shorter stem, but I would rather see if reversing the seat post is also a viable option. I haven't yet talked to my fitter, but that is the next thing that I am going to do. Thanks for any help and suggestions.
HCFR Cycling Team
Ride Safe...Ride Hard...Ride Daily