Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Group set upgrade?
OK, so my Trek Madone 4.5 WSD is only 7 months old. I bought it in April. It's my first road bike and I am new to cycling again since I was a kid. It has the Shimano 105 group and I REALLY wanted SRAM. Is it stupid to already switch it out to a SRAM group set? I mean the WHOLE thing - shifters, brakes, chain all of it. SRAM Force or Rival? I am not interested in Apex. Thoughts? Opinions?
My first question would be, "Why do you want to switch out the drive components?" Is it based on what some other cyclist told you or have you personally had several bad experiences with Shimano? Personally, unless the cassette and chain rings wear out to the point they need replacing, I would just leave what you have on the bike. Unfortunately, questions that are answered on these forums are mostly biased and based on what bike or equipment the responder has and not so much on what they think you should do. I don't know how much riding you have done in the 7 months that you have had the bike, but it doesn't make any sense to upgrade the entire drivetrain on a new bike. Did you ask the shop where you bought the bike if they would swap out the components when you purchased it?

My road bike came with all Tiagra components except for the shifter/brake group, which were Sora. The first thing I wanted to do was the change them to Tiagra so all the drivetrain components would match. I've had the bike for a year (3,100 miles) now and have gotten so used to the Sora shifters, that I really don't see any reason for changing them, unless they wear out or break.
HCFR Cycling Team
Ride Safe...Ride Hard...Ride Daily
+1

Why do you want to spend $1K on something that is not going to make much of a difference?
Nigel