Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Changing a Sturmey Archer 5 speed wheel
Hey all,

I made the foolish mistake of leaving my Vintage Raleigh Courier bike locked-up at a train station over the weekend and it unfortunately became the target of vandalism and now has a rear wheel bent at an impressive 90 degree angle.

So basically the whole back wheel needs to be replaced, with the old wheel housing a 5 speed strumey Archer S5-2 Hub. Being an absolute novice/dunce to the area of bike restoration, I was hoping to get some advice on whether or not I would be able to just replace the whole thing (hub and wheel) with another sturmey archer wheel i've found on e-bay.

The one i'm looking at is: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260926490781&category=58089&_trksid=p5197.c0.m619#ht_815wt_1163

They're both a close match, with my buggered wheel being 26" X 1 3/8th but just wanted to check that it really would be a simple case of taking the old wheel off and putting this new one on.

Apologies if it's a really amateur question but like I said, i'm clueless!

Many thanks in advance for any advice given,
Phil
No, this is a 26" x 1.75" rim, more suitable for a mountain bike, the only usable part for you is the hub, and you already have one of those!
Suggest you find an old style bike shop, who will be able to build a new rim onto your existing hub, subject to availability of rims, as this size is getting scarce and has several variants.
(01-10-2012, 05:59 AM)trevgbb Wrote:  No, this is a 26" x 1.75" rim, more suitable for a mountain bike, the only usable part for you is the hub, and you already have one of those!
Suggest you find an old style bike shop, who will be able to build a new rim onto your existing hub, subject to availability of rims, as this size is getting scarce and has several variants.