Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Questions about 2-speed rear hubs
In maybe 1975, I was given a brand-new Schwinn-style (but not exactly a Schwinn) bike with a Bendix 2-speed hub. My mother had an older Schwinn Hollywood with a similar hub, hers geared a little lower. The old fella who sold new bikes out of his garage told us I got "one of the last 10 2-speeds made in this country." Probably hot air. But I believed this -- at least until I saw just now that 2-speed hubs are now available brand new. When did they start coming out? (Been 20 years since I was a bike mechanic.)

And one more question: I've always thought a two-speed would be perfect in a flat city like Chicago, where I live. But thinking that the only such hubs were Bendix coaster-brake relics like the one in my basement, I doubted if I could mount that hub on a lightweight messenger-style frame and operate it vigorously without bending the left chainstay from the torque. Could you do that?

It's moot, because I'd rather have a hand-brakes on such a bike anyway. But let's say someone did want a coaster-brake 2-speed messenger bike. Could it be done?
The only 2 speeds I'm aware of are the Sturmey Archer kickback hubs. They've been out for a year or two. They shift by backpedaling instead of having a shifter up on the bars. You can get them with or without a coaster brake so they could be used with hand brakes. They work well. I don't know anything about long term durability, but SA hubs generally hold up well. The two speeds basically work like a single speed, but with an extra low gear in case you hit a steep hill. I think the two rations are fairly far apart. There's so many multispeed internal geared hubs now (3 speed - 11+) that they cover most situations where you want more than a single. The only advantage of the 2 speeds is that there's no shifter, cable, etc.