Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon

New Front (and rear?) Derailleur
Hello,

I'm new to this and would like to know what possibilities there are to exchange my Shimano DEORE LX with a shimano model with more gears. I have trouble climbing the hills since there are only 2 main gears, would therefore prefer three main gears on the front derailleur.

I would appreciate all suggestions and possibilities, it doesnt need to be a shimano but of what I have heard they are the best and I want good quality.

Thanks, Ralph
Derailleurs don't have gears. You are talking about your crankset. Hard to say what will work without a little more information on your bike. You could likely stay within the Deore line and find something.
Burton; What you want to do is possible, and is not going to be inexpensive. To provide realistic suggestions we need to know about your bike, where you are riding, and how sensitive you are to the "expensive = better" crap.

Are you looking for lower gearing for climbing, and keeping the tall gears you have (wider range) or just lower overall?

How many teeth are on the chain rings (front two) you currently have?

How many speeds on the rear? It is a cassette or freewheel?

What shifters do you have?

Are you going to do the work yourself, or pay the labor? If the former, do you have the tools?
Nigel
Hello,

It's a Reynolds 531 bike and shimano gears. I'm looking for lower gearing for climbing, keeping the tall gears I have (wider range), not just lower overall since there are hills and straight roads. If I could keep the back gears and just change the front for three instead of two gears only that would be fine.

The teeth and speeds can also be seen on the images attached. I dont know if cassette or freewheel, the shifters will be Shimano. I am looking to order online but someone else to do the maintenance since I dont have the tools.