Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Help in choosing a good road bike
Hi all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to bikes so I'm after a bit of advice on what to look for in a bike. I'm looking to buy a new bike in the £200 GBP (ish); range, but the chose is frankly mind numbing. I will be using the bike every day, mainly to get to work and back home so it will have to be fairly rugged (and as light as possible, within my budget, to help cope with the very hilly terrain around the area that I live).

I was thinking either a mountain bike or a hybrid bike. I was told by a friend that disk breaks are not really that good and can be expensive to replace, he advised me to stick to normal V-type brakes?

I don't want a full suspension bike as I already got one and don't like it. Any advise that anyone can give me on this matter will be gratefully received.

Thanks for taking the time to read this post.
G'day

Really how long is a piece of string? Honestly this sort of question is probably best asked in a UK forum where the members are familiar with your market.

That said, I guess you budget is at the low end of the market so I would suggest visiting two or three local bikes shops to see what they sell in the price range and then ride the bikes. The one that sings to you is the one to buy.

At your price point features like disk brakes and suspension is going to be low quality and heavy. Not worth the pounds in my view. Look for better bikes with less "features" for the same dollars. You are more likely to get better value for money.

For example v-brakes would be fine at this price point.

Regards
Andrew
Aushiker.com
@Aushiker on Twitter

A broken clock is correct twice a day