Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

SRAM and Shimano compatibility
Hiya all, I'm a newbie here. Just started on the hobby of repairing/rebuilding bikes. I like fixing them more than I enjoy riding them. Go figure. I have about 16 bikes in various condition and am currently repairing 3-5 of them, switching from one to another as I wait for parts and research. I usually work outside my garage (car garage, not a workshop) and have quite a number of passerbys ask questions and for help. I do not charge anything except if I have to buy spare parts for them. I repair their bikes gratis, if I can figure out what the problem is and if it's not too major a task. I would like to know more so that I can actually be a better help. I'm not running a business, I have a full time job. This is just for fun.

Almost all the running componentry on the bikes I own are Shimano. Would it be a problem to fit SRAM components into the mix?

I like the SRAM powerlink chains and it seems to work ok with Shimano groupsets and sprockets. Can I run a Shimano groupset with SRAM cassettes? Noobish question but I'm curious. So much to learn.

Cheers
Andrew
You can mix and match most Shimano and SRAM components. Chains and cassettes are not a problem, you can use SRAM chains with Shimano casettes and vice versa.

However, you can't mix and match Shimano and SRAM shifters and mechs.