Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Sram shifter & derailleur and noname sprockets
Hi everybody,

I am new to bicycles and new around here.

I have an old noname bicycle, with a 6 speed rear cassette. as the old derailleur broke, I had to change it with a new one. I asked one shop guide for a derailleur and shifters and he recommended an sram x3, with 6 speeds. This is where the disaster started!!

So, i watched all tutorials for adjustments. Did all the steps but I cannot make the derailleur go through all the sprockets. If I tighten the barrel, it goes to high speeds but does not change more than two speeds down to smaller sprockets and viceversa. I understand that the cassette has to be suited to the derailleur, but found it out too late! And guess what? There are no 6 speed sram cassettes on the market. What should I do? I do not want to replace all, from cassette to derailleur and shifter, as it doesn't worth the money.

Any help is highly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Hi Lee and welcome to BT.
Your 6 spd cluster is most likely a freewheel and not a cassette.
I'm guessing that you're seeing 'X-3' on the rear drlr? If so, we're good there (for now).
Now to the shifter - I don't know of an X-3 shifter designed for 6 spd. If your shifter has more than 6 detents, it won't work correctly. The only 6 spd shifter in SRAMs current production is the MRX Comp. Is that what you bought?
If so, that's not good. The MRX shifters are designed to work with Shimano rear drlrs. Don't you just love it?!! Smile
If all the above is correct, you'll need to exchange that X-3 rear drlr for a Shimano Tourney.

I hope this helps.
Rob
Wheelies don't pop themselves. (from a QBP fortune cookie)
(05-26-2012, 07:47 AM)RobAR Wrote:  Hi Lee and welcome to BT.
Your 6 spd cluster is most likely a freewheel and not a cassette.