Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Replacing Fork on 2001 Diamondback Sorrento
Hello,

I am new to mountain biking I recently purchased a used 2001 Diamondback Sorrento. When I use the front brakes the bike rattles a bit im not sure if it is a problem with the fork?? The fork looks a bit worn I am looking to replace it but I am not sure what model or make would be a suitable replacement. If somebody has any information please help. Thank you
Not knowing what you have exactly for a fork right now and the rattle is the fork you say. some low end forks were just a spring inside a tube and had no dampening and would rattle quite a bit. but first make sure your brake bolts are tight at the posts. Then make sure your headset is tight and no cocking when you squeeze the front brake and rock the bike back and forth.
If you decide to try a fork replacement on your own you will need to buy some tools or make some to get the job done. A suitable replacement will be the best one you can afford, and your lbs can offer assist on that.
If it were my bike I would go with a rigid fork over a low-end shock. steerer tubes are better cut with a saw guide.there can be hidden costs involved like a new headset also. this could be a good time to go threadless also but you may need new stem, headset also
the least expensive way to deal with it would be to stay with what you have but with a rigid fork.
post some pics and lets see what you have
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"
[attachment=3337][attachment=3338][attachment=3339]