Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Shimano Alivio shifting problems
Hi, another newbie here with a shifting issue. This may be too much detail, but will add it in case it is helpful.
I have a Bianchi Advantage Mixte (Cross) bike from (yikes!) 1994, with a Shimano Alivio shifter/derailleur system. It is a one owner model in very good condition, and hasn't gotten a lot of use--lately have used it more with the Walkydog to exercise my dog. Also have used it on blacktopped trails, but very little offroad use. It has been stored in the garage, never outside.

Last year I noted it was not shifting well, so took off/cleaned the chain, cleaned sprockets very thoroughly and reconditioned with Boeshield T9, rode it a bit. It was still not shifting totally right, but it was too late in the fall to finish, so waited till this summer. I reconditioned the chain as looked a bit dry, have spent spent some time online (reading about others' recommendations/mistakes) then have spent an entire afternoon working on it per:
http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/rear-derailler-adjustments-derailleur.

I set limit screws and am working on indexing but running into problems. I took it out for a short ride and brought back inside but still with the same problem. The problems might be inter-related:

1--In all 3 front sprockets/chains, it skips from the rear smallest sprocket to the 3rd one when shifting toward the larger sprocket, and from the rear 3rd smallest sprocket to the smallest when shifting in the other direction. It may rub a bit on the" second to the smallest" sprocket but shifts skips right out of it. So, when shifting toward the largest rear sprocket, the gear showing up on the back sprocket shifter is "2" rather than "1". In the smallest sprocket, the gear does show up correctly as "7"