Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Got a free bike.. Total noob.. Help?=0
Hey everyone! This is my first post here!=)

Okay. So I'm a total noob when it comes to bikes. Used to ride a cheap one as a kid (that my dad fixed up for me), so needless to say, all the fancy parts have my eyes swirling!

Anyways, I had been thinking about how I wanted a bike, saw a sign with a free bike someone had put out, and grabbed it!=D

It's a green/white 19" Norco bigfoot(I have no clue from what year) that has flat tires, a crooked rear reflector plate, and a few kinda rusty parts. It appears to roll along fine, but as I said, I really don't know about bikes, so I'm not sure of the condition.

So basically, I'm not hoping to be a pro cyclist, but what steps should I take to make it road or trail worthy?(I live in BC, Canada) I'm worried about going to a bike shop, and them saying a gazillion things need to be changed when they actually don't, and it costing a bomb. Also, I've heard people saying changing wheels or tubes is easy, and right now, that's all that seems to be stopping it from going. Are walmart wheels or tubes worth getting? Or should they be from a proper bike store? And how can I know if I actually need to change just the inner tubing, the outer tire or the whole wheel itself? And how on earth do I go about measuring the wheel size so I can buy tubing of the right size?=X

Also, are there any tests I should carry out to make sure it's safe to ride? And once (or if) I do get it in working order, what basics do I need to keep it running? (Like lube, oil, pump, tube repair kits, etc...)

Sorry for the long post guys! And please excuse the wordiness, or if it seems like I'm asking stupid questions!=X Any help would really be appreciated!=D