Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Too much force on pedals makes it skip and not move wheel
Hi,

I'm new to bicycle repair, so I'm not sure if I'm even posting this issue in the correct section.

I have a problem with my bike, and I'm not sure if it's related to the chain, chainring or sprockets. If I pedal with too much pressure, the pedals just jump forward without moving the wheels at all. It kind of sounds and feels like the gears are being shifted, but that's not what's happening. It makes it difficult to accelerate fast or climb up hills.

I need to slowly and gradually build up speed and use momentum to get over hills. It's also very difficult to start from a standstill since it takes a lot of force to get moving.

Does anyone happen to know what could be causing this problem? I don't even know what part of the bike is doing this yet, and any help would be appreciated, Thanks!

-Lee
Hi jelee. We need much more info. Is it a single-speed, multi-speed? 1, 2 or 3 rings up front? That kind of thing. If you could provide a pic, that would be ideal.
Wheelies don't pop themselves. (from a QBP fortune cookie)
Agreeing with Rob 100% there could be a few different problems. I was going to take a couple guesses in the dark, but that would not be fair to anyone. However this is very interesting and very educational not only for you, but for us as well. Big Grin
Good maintenance to your Bike, can make it like the wheels are, true and smooth!
I agree with Bill.:-)
Never Give Up!!!
Well, at the risk of not being fair, I'll take a couple guesses Smile

Here's my guess in descending order of likelihood
- Worn chain and cassette
- Worn freewheel (internal ratchet)
- worn freehub (internal ratchet)
- chain jumping over worn front chainrings