Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

What should I do with this Vintage 1980s Univega frame?
So I have this Vintage 1980s Univega frame and I don't know what to do with it. May be you guys can help give some suggestions on what to do.

Initially I had a thought of converting it to a Fixie.

BTW, I'm new to bikes and I want to learn to build a bike. The only bike I have is a Dahon Jack D7 which I commute to work.
Path racer!
http://velospace.org/node/21652

Well, that's what I'd build, but just because I'm into it.

A fix would be a relatively simple, less expensive build. And fixies are a lot of fun, a good riding experience, and very different from your commuter. I would just ask that you don't start cutting bits off the frame so that it could never be geared again. And use at least a front brake. Brakeless really doesn't make sense on the road.
(01-11-2013, 09:31 PM)MrVo Wrote:  So I have this Vintage 1980s Univega frame and I don't know what to do with it. May be you guys can help give some suggestions on what to do.

BTW, I'm new to bikes and I want to learn to build a bike. The only bike I have is a Dahon Jack D7 which I commute to work.

Hey MrVo, I think I have the same frame as you (minus the front forks!) and I'm planning the same project as yourself! I bought it on second hand website here in Ireland for a few quid and I'm on ebay and other sites at the moment picking up pieces for the build, very exciting stuff! I have forks, wheels (with the flip flop hub, so its fixed one side and free wheel the other, as I'm not sure if I want to go down the fixie or single speed route just yet.)
I'm new to this area also, and I'm loving this website!!! I will post some pics of the build as I go, its going to be a slow build as I dont have a huge amount of time (or money!!) at the moment!!
something like my WT