Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Replacing Forks on 2001 Gary Fisher Marlin
I am new at repairing my bike but feel like I can be pretty competent at it. I have a 2001 Gary Fsher Marlin that I have been riding off and on for years. I really love the size and feel of the bike. I don't know if it matters but I live in the Northeast and ride mostly wooded (pretty bumpy) single track. I am 6'2" and weigh about 200. The forks on the bike (Rockshox Jett) froze early last season so I just put the bike up and didn't ride too much. I want to ride A LOT this season. I am looking around at forks that might go on this bike. I have my old forks pulled off and have the following measurements : Steer is 1 1/8 inchs diameter and the shaft length is 8.175 " long from the top of the lower grommet thing (under the ball bearing ring), to the top of the shaft. I measured it with calipers, so I think it is pretty accurate. I am concrened about needing to cut the shaft on anything I buy. There is a threaded insert in the forks I took off that holds the fork in place in the steer (against the top ball bearings). There are a couple of pictures attached. I am mainly looking for help understanding what I need to buy and how to install it.

Thanks. Any help you can provide is greatly apprecaited.
you may still be able able to rebuild the fork you have, or one like this
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Rock-Shox-Judy-SL-Long-Travel-Disc-or-V-Brake-Ready-/321092589786?pt=Cycling_Parts_Accessories&hash=item4ac29c18da

do not worry about the star nut, you just buy a new one. if you buy a used but nice fork it will more than likely have one, now is the time if you would like your bars up a bit and you get a fork with a longer steerer tube you can add spacers. cutting the fork is best done with a hacksaw guide for tubes.