Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Restoring a rusted bike
I aplogize in advance if this is an easy question. I'm a total noobie with bike repair and have been overwhelemed by too much data when searching for answers online.

I live and work in Japan, and a friend who recently had to move out of the country gave me a 2012 Giant Defy 3 which was left out in the elements for about a year. The body and tires are in great shape, but the gear sets, brakes, chain and derailers are rusted and seized and will require replacment.
I took the bike because I want to use it for my ~20 km commute to work and I think it will be a fun project to fix.

The problem is that the owners manual is in Japanese which I'm not nearly good enough to understand, so I'm having a hard time figuring out what parts I will need to order. I'm afraid of ordering parts that are the wrong size or incompatible with each other.

The original set, from what I can tell from the parts that are in English, was a Shimano ST-2200 or a ST-2203:
[Image: shimano.png]

Do you have any recommendations? Should I just buy a replacement ST-2200 set? What measurements/specs should I look at when buying? I plan on using this as a commuter bike and the area I live is hilly but not mountainous.

Thank you for your time.
lets see some close up pics of what you have. the parts should be available and a easy fix. just takes cash. i would replace the chain for sure. have you tried soaking the derailluers with anything to try an free them? are the shifters still okay?
i would go with what was on it already or as close as possible, the rd-2300 is a decent rear derailluer and not to costly
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"
Thanks. I appreciate the feedback.

Here are some photos of my bike:

General view: