Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Trying to raise a threaded stem
Hi all,

I'm new to bike maintenance, and I just got an old 12-speed with a threaded headset. I wanted to raise the stem, so I loosened the top bolt, and tapped it with a wooden block, as I've read about.

Unfortunately, it seemed to be stuck, so I hit it some more, but then the bolt just fell right through, as if there were no threads. Now the bolt is just loose, and I have no way to tighten it, and the stem is still stuck. Have I done something horribly wrong? Help!

Thanks in advance
Sounds like you unscrewed the wedge expender. You first need to get the stem out than fish or turn the bike upside down to shake out the expender .

Put bike upside down and Spray some penetrating oil from the bottom of the fork into the steering head. Let it soak for a while than turn bike right side up and twist the bars back and forth with upward pressure. Once the stem is out put the expender back in place and tighten bolt on top of stem but not too much leave the expender loose, clean apply light coat of grease install set height and tighten top bolt. Do not overtighten a light grunt.

See this photo, the bolt pulls the expender up against the wedged stem and locks it.

http://www.montaguebikes.com/assets/images/ownermanual/stem-diagram.jpg
Never Give Up!!!
Hm, it's not working out for me so far. I sprayed WD 40 into the bottom of the fork (though most of it just drained out through the top of the stem) and have been letting it sit, but it's not budging. I hope it's not too rusted...

Should I do something with the locknut?
the biggest problem is getting the right leverage. A fork clamp bike rack if you have access to one would lock the bike and then offer the leverage you need to knock the stem free.
http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/Product_10053_10052_119106_-1___202594