Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Chain tension/slack in drive line
Let me open by saying how much I appreciated all the help and insight members shared with me last season. Now I'm back with a new(to me) bike and a new problem.

Upon each revolution slack develops in the chain between the freewheel and chainring. It's as if the freewheel was pushing the chain towards the chainring. No much slack develops. Advancing the crankset less than 5 degrees takes it up, but next revolution it's back. There's an audible 'click' each time the slack is taken up. Speed, load, gearing combination doesn't change this condition.

I might add that this bike was in storage for several years. I've cleaned and oiled the chain. It shifts correctly. And I have no experience with this Shimano RX100 derailleur.

What is causing this? and how can I correct/make adjustment(s)?
To clarify:
* happens once per revolution of the cranks. If this is not correct, the following are not candidates.
- pedals?
- chain ring(s)? are they flat? all teeth look good?
- BB?
- crank arms tight on the BB axle?

* stiff chain link would happen approximately every third revolution, but would not sync with the crank revolutions in most gears.

* once per crank revolution is highly unlikely to be associated with the RD or freewheel/cassette-freehub.
Nigel
Nigel, thank you for taking interest.
Yes, slack appears between the freewheel & chain ring once per revolution of the crank.
No, not in the pedals...
Chain rings are in good condition.
No 'play' in the BB-spindle vertically or horizontally...
Crank arms are tight on the taper.