Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

The Feel of Stem Mounted Thumb Shifters
Hi!

I am extremely new to bikes, as I finally decided to learn how to ride at age 29. It was only the other day that I got the hang of pushing off and actually riding and it feels GREAT, exactly how I imagined it would. I just have some questions regarding the bike itself and how things are supposed to feel when in good condition, and what adjustments I can make.

I bought a very cheap bike ($65 off of CL) because I was just learning. I found it very difficult to find a smaller frame, so after a bunch of hunting I slightly settled on this "Huffy Sweet Dreams" 10 speed road bike from the 80's. It's obviously made for a teen girl and from a department store, but it has an 17" or 18" frame which is perfect for me at only 5'.

It has plastic stem mounted thumb shifters that are kind of confusing to me. It's almost impossible to know what gear you're shifting into because there is no click--sometimes I don't even think it shifts at all, as I feel no difference. How are thumb shifters supposed to feel? How do you know if you've jumped a gear or something?

It also seems to stay on the highest(?) gear, making it difficult to pedal. Changing gears is also a little hard for me because it affects my balance, but I'm sure I'll get over that as I get better.

Should I just find a new bike all together, or is it worth tinkering with it/paying to have it tinkered with? Since I didn't know how to ride at all when I first bought it, I couldn't really test these things out.

Sorry if this is confusing, I don't really have the lexicon down yet!

Thanks so much.
A few things to help us help you:

* where are you?
* post pictures of the bike.