Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

One Piece Crank BB - bearing trouble
Hi Guys, first post here. I've been using the site to help me maintain my bikes for a few years now.

I'm visiting the US for a bit and picked up a bike on craigslist (a huffy road bike early 80s I think), only cheap but on a short test cycle it felt solid. I did notice the crank had a bit of a wobble. Anyway I bought it and figured I'd put it into the LBS to overhaul the BB, new bearings and grease, etc.

Picked the bike up from LBS and had a ride, the crank is solid now (no play), but I think maybe they over tightened it or messed up the bearings as I'm now getting that intermitent crunch sound only when peddling.

I went to my first source for bikes - Sheldon Brown - and he notes that's for one piece cranks a bearing retainer or cage is pretty much essential to get it set up right. I notice on my receipt from the LBS they billed me for - BEARI BALL 300 GRADE LOOSE SET 25.

I've only overhauled the usual 3 piece cup and cone sort on my bikes back home. Anyone got experience of the one piece? Also I was worried reading Sheldon that maybe they've put loose bearings in, not the right size or not the right number?

The work is under warranty for 30days should I just take it back in? I paid for a BB overhaul right, so I shouldn't be getting bearing trouble at all? even though its old?

Attached photo is from craigslist (of someone else's mine has already been taken down).

Thanks,

Michael