Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Advice Wanted - What frame is this?
[attachment=4275][attachment=4277][attachment=4275]Hi,
I'm a newbie to this forum, so a big hello to all!!! :-)
I recently bought a frame with the intension of restoring it into a single speed/fixie. However, I am curious as to what make the frame is. The guy I bought it off took it as a part exchange with another bike and had no clue as to the make or year of the frame. It looks to be in pretty good condition and has had a recent enough coat of paint. There are no visable serial numbers or markings? But I was hoping that someone might recognise the frame from the recess in the frame along the chainstays or the fixings along the top tube for the brake cables. It has horizontal drop outs as can be seen in the photos and I've taken a measurement between them which is 110mm if thats any help?
If anyone has any help as to how I go about finding out what it is or knows what it might be I would be very grateful! :-)

thanks!!!
MorganIRL
I would guess early '80's Japanese or Taiwanese.

What are the inner and outer diameters of the seat tube?
How much does it weigh?
Is the seat tube butted? (larger inner diameter in the middle of the tube).
Nigel
(07-04-2013, 12:14 PM)nfmisso Wrote:  I would guess early '80's Japanese or Taiwanese.

What are the inner and outer diameters of the seat tube?
How much does it weigh?
Is the seat tube butted? (larger inner diameter in the middle of the tube).

@ nfmisso: Thanks for the quick reply!

The inner seat tube = 1 inch, outer = 1 1/4inch
It weighs 2.4kg
And from looking at it the seat tube is not butted, the tube is same diameter the whole way inside. IS there anything else I can check that might help?

Thanks again!!