Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Noob with old bike. What needs work? Would help if u have worked on old/rusty bikes
Hi, noob here.

I have an early 80s bike. Certain parts have rust, but everything works. It's for easy riding, not trying to tune it for competition.

So my question is: Other than fine tuning details, i.e. true the wheels, what are a few things that I have to look out for on an old bike, for a safe ride?
Like rusty brake cables can snap. Or this-or-that part can lock up, for no reason.

What needs replacing? The spokes? or brake cables? But then again, they work, "for now". Or maybe old tires are known to pop, indefinitely.

Experiences or stories that you have heard of would really help.

Thanks.
it is a not so common common sense approach. tear down, inspect clean and lube, true the wheels and replace cables and housing, as far as tubes and tires, when in doubt swap them out!
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"
Yeah, what he said. Personally I start with servicing ALL of the bearings starting with the wheel bearings. Followed by the bottom bracket and then the headset. Your bearings will need it.
Next I check the sidewalls for cracks and if they are old I change the tubes.
(07-07-2013, 05:00 PM)painkiller Wrote:  it is a not so common common sense approach. tear down, inspect clean and lube, true the wheels and replace cables and housing, as far as tubes and tires, when in doubt swap them out!

Thanks painkiller and jef.
Yea, that's actually what I'm slowly doing. Test riding it around the block, didn't tell me anything; but when I went for a 30 min ride, all the little imperfections showed up, which can be potentially dangerous.