Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the Latest Giveaway coming soon

Rubbing chain on front deraileur - can't fix
Hi, I am a newbie at bike repair but I've read a bunch of advice videos, tutorials for adjusting deraileur etc and I can't get rid of this problem:
- After bike shop replaced a broken chain on my mountain bike, I have been having shifting problems - excessive noise, slipping gears, etc... Instead of taking it back to them I want to try to figure it out myself (if for nothing else because they take forever and I don't have a lot of confidence in their abilities...)
Main problem: no matter how much I turn the low and high deraileur adjustment screws and how much I adjust the tension on the gear switch cable, the outer cage of the front deraileur always rubs against the chain when the chain is on the middle or large chain ring (for about 3/4 of rear gears). In fact, adjusting the high and low screws doesn't seem to move the chain cage much if at all. I can only move it by adjusting the gear tension knob in the shifter (or by readjusting the gear cable directly with the screw).<br />
I haven't tried to move the deraileur itself - it might be slightly off the parallel but not by much...<br />
Any ideas?
Also, maybe related or not - the bigger problem is that I can't pedal hard on most of my gears without "slipping" - i.e. having the rear gear slip to a lower gear on me - is that most likely a matter of fine-tuning the rear gears or something else?
Anyway, any ideas/thought much appreciated.<br />
Thanks,<br />
-Alex

Hi delenca,
It sounds like a problem with the H limit screw on the front derailleur. Try loosening that off all the way and increasing the cable tension a bit. It could also be that the derailleur is slightly off the parallel so you might want to try playing with that as well.

Hi Alex,