Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Tightening rear axle to cassette
I am new to bike repair, so I hope the title of my post is accurate. I removed my rear wheel today via the quick-release mechanism and noticed that the nut on the end of the axle was loose. This is the nut on the cassette side that I am assuming tightens the axle to the cassette. I began tightening the nut with a 5/8" wrench, but soon the nut was tightened so far that it dipped below the plane of the cassette. At that point, I could no longer reach the nut with the wrench. Do I need to buy a thin-walled socket wrench that gives me the reach I need to tighten the nut?
I have attached some pictures showing what I am talking about. IMG_1152 illustrates the nut being high enough above the cassette that I can tighten it with a wrench. IMG_1154 and IMG_1155 illustrate the nut falling below the plane of the cassette and my wrench no longer being able to reach it.

[attachment=43]
[attachment=44]
[attachment=45]
Something is going on with your axle and/or bearings. Unfortunately, I think you will need to remove the cassette to get at the axle and check your bearings. Note that the nut has to extend past the edge of the cassette or your cassette will rub on the frame. Also, you should end up with an equal amount of axle showing on each end, roughly 1 cm worth.
I would look at these two tutorials:<br />
http://bikeride.com/overhaul-wheel-bearings/<br />
http://bikeride.com/replace-cassette-cluster/

In short, do you mean that the nut should be tightening up before it dips below the plane of the cassette? That is, it should be completely tight by the time it reaches the position in IMG_1152?