Bicycle TutorBicycle Tutor

Show off your bike!

Replacing V-brakes, now confused.

Related video tutorials:
rowtuh Offline

Replacing V-brakes, now confused.
http://imgur.com/a/SGOXi#0

I have a bike I've been using for a year that I got for free. Recently the brakes stopped working. I'm a poor-of-the-poor college student majoring in something totally unrelated to bicycle repair and don't know what I'm doing.

The not-well-treated-before-I-got-it bike was a Huffy Stalker (thus why I got it for free). It has no cantilever mounts, thus the adapter plate.

I don't know what I'm doing. The paper instructions are esoteric and now I don't even understand videos online.

Help meeeee. I mean, uh, please.

Right now I have $35 as my spending budget and may or may not get any more for the next few months.

If you'd like the images inline here I can put them in image tags, too.
Aug 24, 2012 10:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xerxes Offline
Veteran Member

Kent, UK
RE: Replacing V-brakes, now confused.
Hi,

Basically you fit the U shaped part to the standard brake hole at the top of the forks, or on the seat stay bridge, if it's being fitted to the rear, using the long bolt. The V brake arms then fit on the cantilever bosses on the U shaped part, then set up as normal for V brakes.

Brakes can be fiddly to set up if you're not sure what you're doing, do you have any friends or relatives that are cyclists and that might be able to help you out and give you some pointers?
Aug 24, 2012 11:22 AM
DaveM Offline
Veteran Member

BTW, it looks to me like you have one brake cable and one gear cable in your pictures. Make sure you use the thicker brake cable, not the thinner gear one.
Aug 24, 2012 12:09 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
xerxes Offline
Veteran Member

Kent, UK