Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

General Questions Thread...
Hi,

I'm new to this but I want to dive in head-first.

I've searched these forums but not found answers adequate enough for my level of curiosity. Please humor me!

My first project is a Giant Sedona LX I've had for a few years that I want to clean, tune-up, and sell for some extra cash.

I'm wondering, first of all, how I can get the cassette nice and shiny. I know it's not particularly necessary for it to be like-new to function, but I think it's a nice selling point.

I've tried soaking it in Simple Green, but I haven't had much luck. I don't know what tools are safe to use, though.

Secondly, what's the best way to do a complete cleaning of the derailleurs, brakes, shifters, etc, inside and out? I'm thinking of taking them off the bike as I'd like to be extremely thorough; this way I get a feel for bike components inside and out and I learn as much as possible. Which parts can I soak in a de-greaser, and which should I just use detergent on? I'm in this for the long haul, I really want to become proficient!

I have more questions but I'll wait as these are the most pressing and give me enough work to do to begin with.

Thanks!
it would be nice if you could post some pics of what you have. Parts washers work good for the chain, frt/rear derailleurs, crank, rear cassette,
Shifters unless malfunctioning just need cleaned on the outside and not recommended to soak in any kind of cleaner. for these just knock off any dirt and use a tooth brush and rags soaked with WD- 40 and wooden tooth picks for the tight areas, then wipe off the Wd-40 and you are good.
For the frame again I start with Wd-40 and wipe and scrub off all grime/crud. Followed by a quik wipe down with any mild cleaner to take off the WD-40. Followed by Turtlewax Polishing compound to polish to perfection