Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

What do i need for my headset?
[attachment=4796]I just got this bike and it needs work, the headset moves alot, i thought it was the bearings, it still might be, i cant see any, unless they are sealed? if they are sealed it seems everythings fine, though the gap from the forks to the stem is small so it wont lock all into place, making it move, i added a spacer but now the bolt will not reach the fork thread, the bolt is also slighty bent making it harder to tighten and work out whats up with it, do i need bearings? a new bolt? something completely different? im not very good with bearings at all so i need help please, ill upload lots of pictures, any help would be amazing, thanks
Looks like the bearings are missing to me. Are you tightening cap screw prior to the two stem bolts?
I would recommend a total new replacement, the parts look worn. the race on the fork tube pic looks like one used for standard caged bearings and the top shot for the head tube looks like a zero-stack/integrated cartridge type. I cannot make out the brand/logos of your pics. By the shape of your headtube I would say you need an zero-stack integrated headset. these different headset style and name are often misused. it looks like someone has tried to mix them. this cannot be done. here is a link to some styles for you read and understand. if you cannot pinpoint what you need, take the frame and fork to the local bike shop and see if they can help you.
http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/headset-standards
There are two kinds of people in the world, "Those who help themselves to people, and those who help people!"