Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Need Some Help, Please
I recently took my bike in because of a knocking sound I have been having from time to time only while pedaling. It is not always constant and can come and go without anything (that I have noticed) triggering it.

I took it into my local bike shop and I ended up spending $100 for everything; got a new chain, had everything cleaned, etc. None of it fixed the problem so I brought it back in to see what they thought. The noise cannot be reproduced unless you're actually on the bike and pedaling. They wanted another $50 for something they said "may or may not" fix the problem so I decided to pass for now as I don't want to keep throwing money at an issue without knowing it actually will get fixed.

I attached a GoPro to the bike, seeing if I could notice anything myself (though I am no expert), but mainly to record the noise so I could get some opinions about what it might be.

At about the 1:20 mark in the video the noise starts and gets progressively worse. I stop pedaling at points to show that it only happens when pedaling. I also shift to several different gears to show that it is not associated with any particular gear. The noise persists and yet by the end of the short clip is gone. When riding long distances it comes and goes and comes again.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is frustrating and annoying.

Link to vid. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQn--zGQ5uQ&;
A competent shop should not be replacing parts and cleaning until they know the problem - cart before the horse. What you really need is a good mechanic and diagnostician on the bike, but you might check to make sure the BB is tight in the shell, as that can cause a knocking/clunking sound/feel. Also possible is a freewheel/freehub problem. Chain is unlikely.