Show off your bike!

Shifter Install

Related video tutorials:
How to Adjust Your Front Derailleur How to Adjust Your Front Derailleur
* Now with 3D interactive instructions
dukey133 Offline

Shifter Install
Hello,

I'm new to the bike world and I bought this bike yesterday on craigslist and when the guy helped me get it in my car he took off both the front and rear tires and therefore took of the chain and such...so I am just trying to reassemble everything.

Everything makes sense except for one piece. On the close up image, I see that the hook shaped piece will wrap around the axle and then I will secure it with the bolt. The little piece on top of the hook that is confusing me. You can see in this picture it is a small screw that has a tightening piece that is kind of "half-circle" shaped. I cannot for the life of me figure out what this piece does. The screw gets in the way so I can't put the shifter flush against the bike, I don't understand the function of this piece at all, and I'd like to figure it out instead of guessing and assembling the bike incorrectly. There is a washer on the axle also that I could put a few different places but I'm not as worried about that, unless it helps to deal with this mystery piece.

Any help would be so greatly appreciated, let me know if there are any other questions/information I can provide.

Christian

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

Feb 28, 2013 12:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
nfmisso Online
Veteran Member

San Jose, CA
RE: Shifter Install
The Rear Derailleur (RD) appears to be what you are having an issue with; the shifter is the thing that controls the derailleur, and appears to be handle bar mounted on your bike.