Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

"Clicking" chain
I have had my Raleigh AIRlite U6 Comp for about 2 weeks. During my downstroke where pressure is applied to the pedal and crank the chain makes a click or crunch sound. I have checked the chain for wear, chainset and cassette teeth and rear and front derailieur. I have found no problem with any of them as the teeth are not bend or damaged and the rear derailleur is moving the chain from sprocket to sprocket with ease. I may have overlooked something or missed it completely.
I am new to the cycling world and want to get deeply involved with maintaining my own pride and joy.
Please help as this problem is really annoying!!!!!
Thanks

One thing to try: <a href="http://bikeride.com/replace-pedals/">remove your pedals</a> and grease the threads. This is often the cause of a lot of phantom noises. Let me know if that helps...

This probably isn't what is causing your noise but...<br />
When I first started riding again I was getting a clicking noise (but no crunch) on the down pedal. Turned out to be the plastic tip on my shoelace hitting the chainring as my right foot passed around each stroke.

In regards to srglassw, there was an additional clicking which was coming from the zip at the bottom of my trousers hitting off the crankarm. I was hoping that was the issue, so I fastened the velcro strap over the zip to conceal it but the clicking still occured (Grrrr).