Have questions or want to discuss cycling? Join Now or Sign In to participate in the BikeRide community.

New: Take Part in the March Giveaway: Coming Soon 3/24

Dish.... How to caculate how much you need to go?
I'm new to the term "Dish", and have been pointed to links about it...

I've done rims once before... in 1992. put fixed gauge near rim and made sure both sides were identical.

I am up against a rear wheel assembly where I re-positioned spacers and cones on the shaft.

I know the size of the spacer (2mm) but can only guess about the amount of change done to cones... as it was done once in error, and then a 2nd time (after spacer was moved to opposite side, based upon a 'calculated Chain-Line that was within .7mm of where I thought I was heading.)

How does one pre-determine how much Dish is needed -- "how far" to go?
If it's 3+mm do I attempt it all in one move, or two?

do I measure where the hub would be if it were adjacent to the tire, and measure back to the rim, and compare both sides to see what is needed?

This appears to be more complicated than Chain-Line adjustment.

???? Thanks for any comments...
Put the wheel in the frame, and measure how far from centered the rim is close to the cranks and brake bridge. NOTE: if your RD is the type with a claw on it that is clamped by the rear axle or Q/R, then you need to make sure that the rear axle is parallel to the BB axle.

Adjustments for dish should be in ¼ turn increments, loosen first, then tighten.

On my truing stand, I drop the wheel in, then center the rim side to side as I build the wheel.
http://forums.bikeride.com/thread-3834.html
Nigel
Nice Link!! I've got a video head eccentricity gauge that I'm going to put into 'new' service, as you did!!
Thanks...